The journey of a 1000 miles begins with a single step

The Way of the Bodhisattva

“The Way of the Bodhisattva” Shantideva

Chapter 8, stanzas 90-95

Strive at first to meditate
Upon the sameness of yourself and others,
In joy and sorrow all are equal,
Thus be guardian of all, as of yourself.

The hand and other limbs are many and distinct,
But all are one – the body to be kept and guarded,
Likewise different beings, in their joys and sorrows,
Are, like me, all one in wanting happiness.

The pain of mine does not afflict
Or cause discomfort in another’s body,
And yet this pain is hard for me to bear
Because I cling and take it for my own.

And other beings pain
I do not feel, and yet,
Because I take them for myself,
Their suffering is mine and therefore hard to bear.

And therefore I’ll dispel the pain of others,
For it is simply pain, just like my own.
And others I will aid and benefit,
For they are living beings, like my body.

Since I and other beings both,
In wanting happiness, are equal and the like,
What difference is there to distinguish us,
That I should strive to have my bliss alone?

 

Source: Tao & Zen Community Forum

One response

  1. Thank you.

    March 12, 2016 at 5:15 am

Leave a Reply

