The journey of a 1000 miles begins with a single step

Only when you are deeply familiar with silence can you hear the song of the Tao

 No one competes to be a Taoist. It’s practically secret knowledge, not because adherents want to hide it but only because Taoism is fundamentally anti-conformist, individualistic, and oriented toward the patterns of nature over the patterns of society. The song of Taoism is not the song of society….

The song of Taoism is the song of the universe. If you are to sing its song, you must hear it first.

If you would hear that song, you must turn away from the crowd. For the song is powerful, but subtle,easily obscured by the raucous shouts of commerce, the siren drone of people offering to seduce one another, the endless prattling of millions offering their self-confessions, the devilish xenophobia of demagogues, and the endless sentences pouring from bad journalists and poor poets alike. If you want to hear the song few know, you must first draw into silent. Only when you are deeply familiar with silence can you hear the song of the Tao.

Deng Ming-Dao
The Lunar Tao, Day 334

Source: ‎Tao & Zen Community Forum

4 responses

  1. I heard the song when I was a small child. I did not realize the immensity of the gift. I just knew that I was different. The song taught me true. Such a gift.

    January 10, 2016 at 7:51 am

    • Lou

      People like us hear a different beat, don’t we? Too bad we are mostly ignored and ridiculed for our “hearing” capacity. Oh well, it was never meant to be that easy, was it?

      January 10, 2016 at 8:31 am

      • Yes. Some love you, others make you wrong. It’s the world is it not. I usually fly under the radar so I won’t have to deal with it. And being an artist helps because we are supposed to be a bit whacky. All is hard and also gets easier. Having nothing to prove and not caring what anyone thinks goes a long way toward making life less difficult. I have compassion for my fellow humans and there is nothing I can do except be me to the fullest. And that I practice every day as best I can. Thank you for all your posts.

        January 11, 2016 at 6:27 am

        • Lou

          You are welcome and thank you!

          January 11, 2016 at 6:31 am

Leave a Reply

